NPFL: Pillars Back On Top, 17 Games Without Victory For Sunshine Stars

Auwali Ali Malam’s 25th-minute goal was enough to give Kano Pillars all three points against Nasarawa United at the Ahmadu Bello Stadium on Wednesday in a day of narrow wins on matchday 23 of the 2020-21 Nigeria Professional Football League season.

The win extends the Sai Masu Gida’s unbeaten run to eight games and lifts them three points clear of Akwa United who can reclaim top spot on goals difference with victory at Abia Warriors on Thursday.

In other matches decided on Wednesday, bottom side Adamawa United secured a first win in nine games as Sanusi Abdulmalik’s unfortunate own goal gave them a narrow win over Katsina United who drop into the relegation places with the loss.

Warri Wolves eased relegation fears with a narrow but important win against visitors Lobi Stars with Efe Yarhere scoring the all-important winner in a game that saw Lobi goalkeeper Stanley Nwabili sent off in added time.

Meanwhile, Gbenga Ogunbote continues to preside over a rapidly sinking ship at Sunshine Stars who have now gone 17 games without a win following the goalless stalemate with resurgent MFM in Akure.

Despite their terrible run of form, Stars remain just three points from safety while MFM whose three-game run was halted by the draw are unbeaten in five games and drop a place to 12th in the table.

Dakkada rebounded from defeat against neighbours Akwa United in their last home game to beat second-from-bottom FC Ifeanyiubah in Uyo with Isaac George scoring a brace in the 2-1 win.

And champions Enyimba claimed the day’s only away win with a 2-1 triumph at Wikki Tourists who remain without a substantive manager following the resignation of Usman Abd’Allah.

Reuben Bala and Tosin Omoyele scored either side of Michael Stephen’s goal to secure a first win in six games for Fatai Osho’s side who are up to 7th and would have four games on most teams following the conclusion of midweek fixtures on Thursday.

NPFL 2020-21 Matchday 23 Results

Adamawa United 1-0 Katsina United
Kano Pillars 1-0 Nasarawa United
Wikki Tourists 1-2 Enyimba
Kwara United 1-1 Rivers United
Dakkada 2-1 FC Ifeanyiubah
Sunshine Stars 0-0 MFM
Warri Wolves 1-0 Lobi Stars