NPFL: November 3rd Opener Pits Ilechukwu Against Former Side MFM

The 2019/2020 season of the Nigeria Professional Football League (NPFL) will finally commence on 3 November after the League Management Company (LMC) and Club Owners Association agreed on the date at a meeting held in Abuja in Monday.

Draws for the first and second round of league matches were also held for the 20 participating teams with the league reverting to a regular round robin 38 game format as against last season’s abridged league of 24 teams split into two groups.

Matchday one will see former MFM coach Fidelis Illechukwu welcome his old side to Owerri where he’s since taken charge of Heartland FC while defending champions Enyimba have been drawn at home to Nasarawa United although that fixture is likely to played at a later date with the league champions on continental assignment in the CAF Confederation Cup.

Enugu Rangers who are also on the continent will welcome Sunshine Stars to the Nnamdi Azikiwe Stadium on a yet to be decided date while Kano Pillars tackle Rivers United at the Sani Abacha Stadium in the most glamorous tie of the opening round of matches.

Delta Force and Akwa Starlets go head-to-head in a battle of newly promoted teams, newbies Warri Wolves host Akwa United while Wikki Tourists host Jigawa Golden Stars in a Northern derby.

Match Day One Fixtures

Wikki Tourists vs Jigawa Golden Stars
Plateau United vs Lobi Stars
Delta Force vs Akwa Starlets
Kano Pillars vs Rivers United
Heartland vs MFM FC
Ifeanyiubah vs Adamawa United
Rangers Int’l vs Sunshine Stars (P-P)
Warri Wolves vs Akwa United
Abia Warriors vs Katsina United
Enyimba vs Nasarawa United (P-P)