NPFL: LMC Releases Provisional Fixture List For 2020-21 Season

The League Management Company (LMC) has released a tentative 380-game fixture list for the 2020-21 Nigeria Professional Football League.

According to the schedule of matches released on Monday, the new season will kick off on 6 December and conclude on 4 July 2021 and will feature seven midweek fixtures on Matchdays 3, 8, 12, 23, 27, 31 and 33.

The fixture list puts to bed speculation that the upcoming season will be contested in an abridged format.

With several stadiums yet to be certified match worthy by the LMC, several fixtures may have to be played away from the traditional grounds of host teams.

The LMC, however, stressed that all proposed venues, dates and kickoff times are subject to change due to “Club Licensing decisions, TV Broadcast Schedules and CAF Inter-Club Competitions”.

According to the fixture list, Matchday 1 on 6 December will feature two state derbies with record league champions Enyimba at home to Abia Warriors in what promises to be a baptism of fire for new Warriors coach Imama Amapakabo while Akwa United take on Dakkada FC in Uyo.

In other Matchday 1 fixtures, seven-time league champions Rangers travel to the Yakubu Gowon stadium to take on Rivers United while Adamawa United play Kano Pillars in Gombe.

With the Lafia Township Stadium yet to be approved for next season, Nasarawa United have been scheduled to play their opening home fixture against Wikki Tourists in Makurdi with Plateau United also travelling down to Bauchi to host Kwara United.

Katsina State will play hosts to two matches on the opening weekend with home team Katsina United slated to host Heartland FC and Jigawa Golden Stars also hosting Gbenga Ogunbote’s Sunshine Stars at the same venue.

FC IfeanyiUbah play Lobi Stars at a yet to be determined venue while Lagos side MFM FC start life at new home ground the Teslim Balogun Stadium against Warri Wolves.

The full fixture list can be downloaded here (PDF).