NFF Board Members’ Appointment: Sports Minister Dalung Calls For Calm After ‘Huge Gaffe’

Nigeria’s Minister of Youths and Sports, Solomon Dalung, has appealed for calm on the part of football stakeholders after the Federal Government (FG) made a huge error on Saturday.

In what was a surprising move on Saturday, the Federal Government appointed four individuals as new NFF board members.

The NFF (Nigeria Football Federation) is a an autonomous body under FIFA laws meaning that government interference is prohibited.

The four men namely Akintoba Fategun, Wale Oladunjoye, Sami Marafa and Sanni Fema were named into the NFF board as part of the appointments made into the boards of FG agencies.

Addressing the surprising move from the FG via his official Twitter handle, Solomon Dalung called for calm among football stakeholders.

The tweet said: “I am appealing for calm from all stakeholders that it’s an administrative oversight about NFF board appointed by government. Efforts are tailored towards to address it soonest.”

The current NFF board members were elected in 2014 and their tenure will run until 2018.