Modric, Harder Win UEFA Player Of The Year Awards

The duo of Luka Modric and Pernille Harder have emerged as UEFA Player of the Year Award recipients.

Modric and Harder were presented with the awards during the Champions League group stage draw held at the Grimaldi Forum in Monaco.

Croatian midfielder Luka Modric won the UEFA Men’s Player of the Year ahead of former Real Madrid teammate Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal) and Liverpool forward Mohamed Salah (Egypt).

He was one of the standout performers for Real Madrid after the Los Merengues defeated Liverpool 3-1 in the Champions League final to win a third successive title.

Pernille Harder (VFL Wolfsburg & Denmark) beat Ada Hegerberg (Lyon & Norway) and Amandine Henry (Lyon & France) to win the women’s Player of the Year Award.

Harder won both the German League & Cup with Wolfsburg and also scored in the Champions League though her team ended up losing 4-1 to eventual winners Lyon in extra time despite the fact that she scored the opening goal after a goalless affair in regulation time.