Liverpool Dominate 2020 Best FIFA Football Awards Shortlist

Liverpool have four players in the running for the men’s prize in the Best Fifa Football Awards with manager Jurgen Klopp also up for Manager of the Year.

Virgil van Dijk, Mohamed Salah, Sadio Mane and Thiago Alcantara have all been named in the shortlist for the men’s prize in released today.

Manchester City midfielder Kevin de Bruyne is also in contention as part of the 11-player men’s shortlist.

Bayern Munich’s Polish striker Robert Lewandowski who has been tipped to win after top scoring in the Bundesliga and the Champions League is also on the list as are perennial favourites Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi.

Bayern boss Hans Flick who led the Bavarians to a treble last season is on the manager’s shortlist as is Leeds United boss Marcelo Bielsa.

Chelsea manager Emma Hayes is in the running for the women’s manager award.

FIFA says the winners will be chosen via a “combined voting process involving the captains and head coaches of all national teams around the globe, an online ballot of fans and submissions from a select group of more than 200 media representatives”.

Voting will take place between 25 November and 9 December, with the results being announced during a ceremony on 17 December.

Tottenham forward Son Heung-min’s goal against Burnley has been nominated for FIFA’s Puskas Award.

Wales captain Sophie Ingle’s Women’s Super League goal for Chelsea against Arsenal and an effort by Dundalk’s Jordan Flores against Shamrock Rovers are other nominees.

Full Men’s Player Shortlist

Thiago Alcantara (Spain, Liverpool)

Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal, Juventus)

Kevin de Bruyne (Belgium, Manchester City)

Robert Lewandowski (Poland, Bayern Munich)

Sadio Mane (Senegal, Liverpool)

Kylian Mbappe (France, Paris St-Germain)

Lionel Messi (Argentina, Barcelona)

Neymar (Brazil, Paris St-Germain)

Sergio Ramos (Spain, Real Madrid)

Mohamed Salah (Egypt, Liverpool)

Virgil van Dijk (Netherlands, Liverpool)

Full Women’s Player Shortlist

Lucy Bronze (England, Manchester City)

Delphine Cascarino (France, Lyon)

Caroline Graham Hansen (Norway, Barcelona)

Pernille Harder (Denmark, Chelsea)

Jennifer Hermoso (Spain, Barcelona)

Ji So-yun (South Korea, Chelsea)

Sam Kerr (Australia, Chelsea)

Saki Kumagai (Japan, Lyon)

Dzsenifer Marozsan (Germany, Lyon)

Vivianne Miedema (Netherlands, Arsenal)

Wendie Renard (France, Lyon)

Full Men’s Coach Shortlist

Marcelo Bielsa (Argentina, Leeds United)

Hans-Dieter Flick (Germany, Bayern Munich)

Jurgen Klopp (Germany, Liverpool)

Julen Lopetegui (Spain, Sevilla)

Zinedine Zidane (France, Real Madrid)

Full Women’s Coach Shortlist

Lluis Cortes (Spain, Barcelona)

Rita Guarino (Italy, Juventus)

Emma Hayes (England, Chelsea)

Stephan Lerch (Germany, Wolfsburg)

Hege Riise (Norway, LSK Kvinner)

Jean-Luc Vasseur (France, Lyon)

Sarina Wiegman (Netherlands, Dutch national team)