Indians And Sri Lankans Dominate Lagos International Badminton Classics 2017

The 3rd edition of the Lagos international Badminton Classics has left a remarkable statement for all as the finals saw the Sri Lankan and Indian contingent scoop major honours on final day.

The four day championship which climaxed on Saturday with the finals in all categories at the Molade Indoor Sports Hall, Teslim Balogun Stadium, Surulere, Lagos saw two Indians in the men singles category— Rahul Yadav Chittaboina and Karan Rajan Rajarajan slug it out on the court for gold with the former emerging champion in two straight sets (21-15, 21-13).

Thilini Pramodika Hendahewa of Sri Lanka who was unseeded in the tournament  emerged champion in the women’s category after a close victory over India’s Mugdha Agrey who was seeded 4th heading into the international challenge.

Hendahewa who had earlier beat Nigeria’s top seed and tournament’s 5th seed, Grace Gabriel in the female category round of 32 enjoyed a roller coaster ride in the first set against Mugdha 21-13 before a nervy 21-19 score line in the second set to win gold.

The Indian duo of Manu Attri and Reddy B. Sumeeth who are currently ranked 33rd emerge champions in the men’s doubles category over Nigeria’s Anuoluwapo Opeyori and Godwin Olofua in two sets– 21-13 21-15 .

Furthering the Sri Lankan dominance also saw the strong pairing of Thilini Pramodika Hendahewa and Ishadika Kavidi defeat Nigeria’s Zainab Momoh and Ramatu Yakubu 21-8 21-5  to become the 2017 women’ s doubles champion.

And in what would remain unarguably, one of the biggest highlights of this year’s Lagos International Badminton Classics was seeing mother and son (The Zilbermans)– Misha Zilberman (M) and Svetlana Zilberman (F) of Israel  beat Portuguese’ duo of Duarte Nuno Anjo (M) and Sofia Setim (F) to clinch the mix doubles title.


Writer: Chidiebere Anugwolu