Handball: National Division One Championship To Hold In Kaduna

Kaduna State will play host to the National Division One Handball Championship from 13 to 22 November the Handball Federation of Nigeria has announced.

This is the first time that the National Division One Handball Championship will hold since it last held in 1993.

The tournament which is organised in conjunction with the host state will see twenty-five teams compete for the top honours and a place in next season’s Prudent Energy Handball Premier League.

HFN secretary general Maigidasanma Mohammed confirmed that 16 male teams and 9 female teams will participate in the competition which will hold at Muritala Muhammad Square.

The teams are expected to arrive Kaduna on Wednesday for pre-tournament registration before the commencement of the competition.

Handball Federation of Nigeria President Mr Sam Ocheho has urged the teams to be of good conduct and not to bring the game into disrepute.

Participating Teams


1.Akwa United

2.Bayelsa United

3.Benue Buffalos

4.Delta Force

5.Gateway Pioneer


7.Katsina Desert Warriors

8.Kogi Confluence Stars

9.Kwara Adorable Stars

10.Mindscope Gladiator

11.Nasarawa Ambassadors

12.Plateau Vipers 2

13.Police Machine

14.Rising Star

15.Yankari Bulls

16. Yobe Desert Warriors


1. Anambra Gallant Babes

2. Bayelsa Queens

3. Benue Queens

4. COAS Shooters Babes

5. Delta Force

6. Kogi Confluence Queens

7. Kwara Adorable Angels

8. Mindscope Gladiatrix

9. Police Machine