HANDBALL: HFN Reveal National U18 And U21 Squads For IHF International Challenge Trophy in Kosovo

The full 28-man squads of the National U18 and U21 Male Handball Teams that will be competing at the International Handball Federation (IHF) International Challenge Trophy in Kosovo have been released by the Handball Federation of Nigeria (HFN).

The teams which have departed for the championship had trained in Lagos for about a month in the leadup to the tournament which is scheduled to take place from 10th to 16th April, 2019.

A number of the players selected for the championship were picked after excelling at the National Under 18 & 21 Handball Championship held in March at the Rowe Park Sports Center, Yaba, Lagos.

Technical Director of the Federation, Ferdinand Emeana who has travelled with the team to Kosovo and was present at the Lagos training camp believes the teams have prepared well enough and are poised to achieve great exploits at tournament.

“The coaches have done a good job nurturing the cadet and junior teams for this competition.

I am very confident that they will do well in the international championship and make Nigeria proud,” Emeana said.

The U18s begin their campaign against Chinese Taipei on the 10th of April and play Paraguay two days later.


1) Yusuf Faruk (Mountada Derb Sultan Handball Club of Morrocco).

2) Ismiala Yahaya (Niger United)

3) Ekpodio Ebinatei K. (Lagos Seasiders)

4) Saheed Shittu (Kwara State)

5) Obinna Okafor (Idah Pillars)

6) Sanni Bature Mohammed (Lagos Seasiders)

7) Salim Ahmed Salim (Niger United)

8) Hakeem Salami (Lagos Seasiders

9) Bello Mohammed (Lagos Seasiders)

10) Ibrahim Dikko (Lagos Seasiders)

11) Dauda Abubakr (Borno Spider)

12) Anas Yashau (Najet Handball Academy Zaria)

13) Abubakar Abdulrahaman Abdullazeez (Kada Stars)

14) Adeshola Adelakun (Lagos Seasiders)

Coaches: Emeka Nnamani, Musa Oji Sabo.


1) Anthony Agada (Benue Buffalo)

2) Dele Kelvin Gbenga (COAS Shooters)

3) Serumun Terrumun (Benue Buffalo)

4) Suleiman Usman (Niger United)

5) Solomon Agbaji Michael (Kano Pillars)

6) Joseph Gbolahun (COAS Shooters)

7) Mohammed Anas (Niger United)

8) Mohammed Alhaji Alfa (Niger United)

9)Mohammed Danlami Abdullahi (Safety Shooters)

10) Abdullahi Atabo (Safety Shooters)

11) Gbenga Cole (Safety Shooters)

12) Owolabi Ibrahim (Lagos Seasiders)

13) Gbenga Rotibi (Lagos Seasiders)

14) Olufemi Onamade (Switzerland)

Coaches: Agboola Shittu Adewunmi, Alex Borisky.

Technical Director: Ferdinand Emeanaa