Gov. Dickson Classics: Team Bayelsa Crowned Champions

Hosts Bayelsa State have emerged overall champions of the 3rd Governor Dickson National Wrestling Classics, retaining the title they won two years ago in Yenagoa.

After seven days of competition at the Indoor Sports Hall of the Samson Siasia Sports Complex, Team Bayelsa topped the standings in the senior category with 198pts, accrued from 8 gold, 6 silver, and 8 bronze medals.

Team Delta finished a distant second with 141 points, having won 7 gold, 7 silver, and 1 bronze medal, while highly-fancied Ondo State settled for 3rd spot with 111pts from 6 gold, 3 silver, and 3 bronze medals.

Edo State rounded-off their outing in 4th place with 85 points, while the Nigerian Army Wrestling Team completed the top 5 with 56 points, claiming 3 gold, 2 silver, and a bronze medal.

On the last day of competition, African champions Blessing Oborududu (68kg), Mercy Genesis (50kg), Amas Daniel and Ebikewenimo Welson (57kg) all won gold to help Team Bayelsa emerge overall champions.

In a related development, Amas, Genesis and Ikechukwu Robinson of Team Oyo have been selected as the Most Outstanding wrestlers at the just-concluded 3rd Gov. Dickson Classics.

Ikechukwu was rated the overall best in the Greco Roman event, while Team Bayelsa’s  Amas and Genesis stood out in the Freestyle and Women Wrestling events respectively.

The trio were presented with gold-plated trophies for their efforts.