ESL: Real, Barca, Juve Face UEFA Disciplinary Investigation

UEFA has initiated a disciplinary investigation into the three remaining clubs in the European Super League – Barcelona, Juventus and Real Madrid.

The clubs were part of the 12 original members of the now collapsed breakaway league but have refused to follow the other nine clubs in abandoning the project.

UEFA says its disciplinary inspectors will look at a “potential violation” of its legal framework by the trio.

The other nine clubs involved – Arsenal, Chelsea, Liverpool, Manchester City, Manchester United, Tottenham Hotspur, AC Milan, Inter Milan and Atletico Madrid – have been punished by European football’s governing body for their participation.

They have agreed to make a combined 15m euro (£13.4m) goodwill contribution to benefit children’s and grassroots football across Europe.

They will also have 5% of UEFA competition revenues withheld for one season, starting in 2023-24, and this money will be redistributed, including in the UK.

Each has also committed to Uefa and its competitions, with the clubs facing fines of 100m euros (£86.9m) apiece if they seek to join an unauthorised competition in the future. They will be fined half that if they breach any other terms of the declaration.