Edo 2020: 14 Teams To Compete In Basketball Event


Fourteen states will compete in the basketball event at the ongoing National Sports Festival when the competition starts on 7 April the NBBF has confirmed. 

Seven teams each in the men’s and women’s categories will contest for the winner’s crown at the Emotan College venue of the event. 

In the men’s category, hosts Edo will be banking on home support to upset rivals Rivers State (South-South), Yobe (North East), Kano (North West), Kwara (North Central), Lagos (South West) and Imo (South East). 

In the absence of the Federal Capital Territory team which won the last edition as hosts after beating Gombe Bulls in the finals, a new national champion will emerge with Rivers state being the favourites.

It will be a battle between Borno (North East), Kano (North West), Bayelsa (South-South) Nassarawa (North Central), Lagos (South West), Imo (South East) and hosts Edo in the women’s category. 

According to basketball tradition, fixtures will be drawn up at the Technical/Pre Match meeting which will take place on Tuesday, 6 April.

In line with its capacity building drive, the Nigeria Basketball Federation will also be organizing a Clinic and Training for the Referees and Table/Technical officials who will be on duty. 

The training will be conducted by Kingsley Ojeaburu, Opeyemi Ogunleye and other FIBA referees present at the Sam Ogbemudia Stadium, Tennis Boardroom by 10.00 am on Tuesday.