CRICKET: Nigeria National Women’s Team En Route Zimbabwe for Maiden ICC World Cup Qualifiers (FULL LIST)

Nigeria’s National Women’s Cricket team christened ‘Female Yellow Greens‘ will depart Nigeria on Friday for the ICC Women’s World Cup Africa Qualifier scheduled to take place from the 5th to 12th of May, 2019 in Harare, Zimbabwe.

The West African country have in the last 20 months experienced tremendous development in the sport at all levels which is visible in the current ranking of their female team as 36th in the world. 

They have been drawn in Group A alongside Rwanda, Mozambique, Tanzania and host Zimbabwe while Kenya, Uganda, Sierra Leone, and Namibia are drawn against each other in Group B. 

The top teams from both groups will battle for the single qualification slot for the ICC Women’s World Cup. 

All-rounder Captain, Blessing Etim and Bating prodigy/Vice Captain, Samantha Agazuma will once again lead the team which includes spinning sensation Mary Desmond, Fyneface Fate, Hannah Ayoka, Agatha Obulor, Joy Efosa, Grace Ephraim and Blessing Frank.  

Shakirat Oyewole will be making her debut entry into the team and will seek to provide an all-round balance in the Squad with her exceptional wicket-keeping skills. 

Nigeria’s Women Cricket Team List for ICC World Cup Qualifiers in Zimbabwe: 

Blessing Etim, Samantha Agazuma, Mary Desmond, Fyneface Fate, Hannah Ayoka, Agatha Obulor, Joy Efosa, Grace Ephraim, Blessing Frank, Taiwo Abdulquadri, Shakirat Oyewole, Blessing Nwobodo,  Rachel Samson and Abigail Igbobie.