Cricket: Nigeria Announce 14-Man Squad For ACA T20 Cup In Kenya

The Nigeria Cricket Federation has announced a final list of 14 players for the Africa Cricket Association (ACA) T20 Cup Finals to be held in Nairobi, Kenya from 20 to 28 March.

The NCF has gone for a fine balance between youth and experience as the country’s selectors cut out four of the sixteen players who had been in camp in Lagos.

Pradeep Chaudhary and Rasheed Abolarin will make their international debut for the team while Sylvester Okpe and Suleimon Runsewe will join the team after their exploits in the U19 Cricket World Cup in South Africa according to a statement by the NCF.

Read Also: Debutants Nigeria Out To Shock The World At U19 Cricket World Cup – Captain Okpe (AUDIO)

Joshua Ayannaike will lead the team as captain for the first time, while U19 captain Sylvester Okpe retains his position as vice-captain.

Nigeria and Ghana qualified for the tournament during the West Africa qualifiers held in Lagos between 25 to 30 April, 2018.

The 2020 ACA Africa T20 Cup Finals which will have full T20 International status was originally scheduled to be held in September 2019 before being shifted to March 2020.

The competition will mark the first international outing for the senior national team, the Yellow Greens, since their chastening experience last October at the ICC T20 World Cup qualifiers in the UAE where they lost all five matches.

Read Also: Champions Converge As Debutants Prepare For Momentous Occasion At U19 Cricket World Cup

The Yellow Greens will compete in Group A alongside Ghana, Malawi, and Uganda while host nation Kenya will vie with Botswana, Cameroon and Mozambique in Group B.

The top team from each group advances to the final.

Full Yellow Greens Squad For ACA T20 Cup Finals

  1. Ovais Yusuf
  2. Joshua Ayannaike (C)
  3. Daniel Gim
  4. Dotun Olatunji
  5. Sesan Adedeji
  6. Chimezie Onwuzulike
  7. Pradeep Chaudhary
  8. Vincent Adewoye
  9. Isaac Okpe
  10. Sylvester Okpe
  11. Daniel Ajekun
  12. Rasheed Abolarin
  13. Chima Akachukwu
  14. Runsewe Suleimon