Cricket: NCF Calls Up 16 To Camp Ahead Of 2020 ACA Africa T20 Cup Finals

The Nigeria Cricket Federation (NCF) has called up sixteen players to camp in Lagos for trials ahead of the 2020 ACA Africa T20 Cup Finals due to be held in Nairobi, Kenya from 20 to 28 March. 

The trials according to a statement from the NCF signed by General Manager Emeka Igwilo announced will be coordinated by Mr Oboh Omoigui who will manage the team in an acting capacity pending the reconstitution of a new technical crew.

A final squad for the eight-nation tournament will be selected by the chief selector and other members of the selectors’ committee on 11 January with the final squad list transmitted to the Africa Cricket Association (ACA) on 15 January.

The NCF announced that the final squad list will also comprise some members of the U19 Cricket team who are currently in South Africa for the U19 ICC Cricket World Cup with the U19 players to be assessed based on their performances in preparatory games in the lead up to the World Cup which bowls off on 20 January.

Meanwhile, Dotun Olatunji won’t participate in the trials after he was granted a waiver by the Federation.

The 2020 ACA Africa T20 Cup Finals which will have full T20 International status was originally scheduled to be held in September 2019 before being shifted to March 2020.

Nigeria will compete in Group A alongside Ghana, Malawi, and Uganda while host nation Kenya will vie with Botswana, Cameroon and Mozambique in Group B.

The top team from each group advances to the final.

List of Invited Players

1. Dotun Olatunji

2. Joshua Ayannaike

3. Ovais Yusuf

4. Pradeep Chaudhary

5. Tunde Ayinde

6. Pankaj Kumar

7. Mustapha Yusuf

8. Sesan Adedeji

9. Daniel Ajekun

10. Chimezie Onwuzulike

11. Daniel Gim

12. Isaac Okpe

13. Chima Akachukwu

14. Vincent Adewoye

15. Leke Oyede 

16. Henry Okafor