Controversial World Champion Miss Out On Athlete Of The Year Nominees

Controversial American sprinter and world 100m champion, Justin Gatlin, has been left out of the 10 male nominees announced for the IAAF 2017 World Athlete of the Year.

This represents the first time in 13 years that the Olympic or world 100m champion has not made the shortlist. Gatlin was the athlete that was left out the last time it happened.

35-year old Gatlin became the world champion in the 100m after he saw off Jamaican sprint legend Usain Bolt to win gold in the IAAF World Championship in London earlier this year.

Justin Gatlin has served a doping ban on two separate occasions and he misses out as a result after the Athletics’ governing body, IAAF, changed its rule in 2015 so that serious doping offenders won’t be eligible.

Long distance legend Mo Farah of Britain retained the 10,000m and was rewarded with a spot on the list of nominees.

The award would be decided by IAAF members and fans via social media. Voting closes on October 16 and the winners will be announced at the IAAF Athletics Awards in Monaco on November 24.

The nominees for 2017 World Athlete of the Year:

Men: Mutaz Essa Barshim (Qatar); Pawel Fajdek (Poland); Mo Farah (Great Britain); Sam Kendricks (United States); Elijah Manangoi (Kenya); Luvo Manyonga (South Africa); Omar McLeod (Jamaica); Christian Taylor (United States); Wayde van Niekerk (South Africa); Johannes Vetter (Germany)

Women: Almaz Ayana (Ethiopia); Maria Lasitskene (Authorised Neutral Athlete); Hellen Obiri (Ken)ya; Sally Pearson (Australia); Sandra Perkovic (Croatia); Brittney Reese (United States); Caster Semenya (South Africa); Ekaterini Stefanidi (Greece); Nafissatou Thiam (Belgium); Anita Wlodarczyk (Poland).