Coleman Names 23-Man Squad For Upcoming World Cup Qualifiers

Wales manager Chris Coleman has named a 23-man squad to navigate their upcoming 2018 FIFA World Cup qualifiers against Georgia and Republic of Ireland.

The squad is made up of 3 goalkeepers, 7 defenders, 7 midfielders and 6 forwards.

Uncapped Sheffield United winger David Brooks has been named on the list alongside another first timer in Preston North End goalkeeper Chris Maxwell.

20-year old Brooks had earlier played for England’s Under-20s in the summer but he haso now decided to represent Wales having made an impressive start to this season with Sheffield United in the English Championship.

Regular squad members Jazz Richards and James Collins have however been left out as a result of injury.

On the call-up for Brooks, Coleman said: “David Brooks has earned it, he has been great for [Wales U21 manager] Robert Page. He was excellent for Sheffield United in the derby.”

“He’s shown great promise for some years, luckily for us he has chosen Wales. I am sure that has caused some ripples over the Severn Bridge.

“But it is a feather in the cap for our system, our structure, that David is here. He has earned his chance.

“I have met him, we had a coffee last month, we had a good chat. It’s not like he’s meeting me for the first time.

“I would not be afraid to put him on, but I don’t feel obliged to cap him unless it suits us.” he added.

On his star players namely Gareth Bale and Aaron Ramsey, Coleman said: “Gareth and Rambo are in great form and that’s great news for us. It’s important both players are playing so well.”

Wales face hosts Georgia on October 6 before the derby against the Republic of Ireland in Cardiff on October 9 with the team currently in second place with two Group D matches to go and on course for a play-off spot at least.

Wales Squad:

Goalkeepers: Wayne Hennessey, Danny Ward, Chris Maxwell;

Defenders: Ben Davies, James Chester, Neil Taylor, Chris Gunter, Tom Lockyer, Ashley Williams, Ethan Ampadu;

Midfielders: Joe Allen, David Edwards, Andy King, Joe Ledley, Aaron Ramsey, Jonathan Williams, David Brooks;

Forwards: Gareth Bale, Marley Watkins, Hal Robson-Kanu, Sam Vokes, Tom Lawrence, Ben Woodburn.