Club Brugge Emerge Belgian Super Cup Winners

Belgian Pro League champions Club Brugge have won the 2018 Super Cup after they defeated Standard Liege 2-1 in their clash on Sunday evening.

The Super Cup is the duel between league champions (Club Brugge) and Cup Champions (Standard Liege).

Belgian forward Hans Vaneken and Wesley struck towards the end of the first half to hand Club Brugge a 2-0 lead at halftime.

Winger Edmilson Junior pulled one back for Standard Liege four minutes after restart.

Club Brugge held on for the remainder of the game to move clear with a record of 14 Super Cup titles ahead of the immediate past winner Anderlecht (13 titles).