CHAN 2018 Participating Teams Confirmed

16 teams including Kenya who qualified automatically as hosts have been confirmed as participants at the 2018 African Nations Championship (CHAN).

A total of 48 CAF member national teams entered the qualifying rounds, split into zones according to their regional affiliations.

In the final qualifying fixture played on Wednesday, August 23, 2017, Guinea overturned a (1-3) first leg defeat against Senegal by winning (5-0) a the Stade du 28 Septembre, Conakry, to advance (6–3) on aggregate. Sékou Amadou Camara recording a hattrick.

Qualified Teams:

Host – (Central-East Zone – Kenya)
Central-East Zone – (Uganda, Sudan)
Central Zone – (Equatorial Guinea, Congo, Cameroon)
West Zone A – (Mauritania, Guinea)
West Zone B – (Nigeria, Ivory Coast, Burkina Faso)
Southern Zone – (Angola, Namibia, Zambia)
Northern Zone – (Morocco, Libya)

Tournament statistics:

Matches played: 62
Goals scored: 142 (2.29 per match)
Top scorer: Guinea’s Sékou Amadou Camara (8 goals).

DR Congo are the defending champions but failed to qualify for the first time ever after losing to Congo on away goals rule.

Kenya, Equatorial Guinea, and Namibia would be making their debut at the biennial tournament.

The competition is scheduled to take place between 11 January and 2 February 2018.