CAF Reveals Prize Money for #AFCON2019 Participants

Following the end of the conclusion of the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations, the Confederation of African Football (CAF) have revealed the prize money for all countries that participated in the 24-team tournament.

Eventual champions Algeria will receive $4.5 million and runners-up Senegal will get $2.5 million.

Algeria won their second-ever AFCON title after narrowly beating Senegal 1-0 in the final on Friday night. Al Sadd striker Baghdad Bounedjah scored the only goal of the game just two minutes after kick-off.

Meanwhile, hosts Egypt will receive $670.000 following their disgraceful exit from the Round of 16, including Benin, Uganda, Mali, Guinea, DR Congo, Cameroon, and Ghana.

First-timers Madagascar will pocket $800.000 with fellow quarterfinalists Ivory Coast, South Africa, and Benin.

Nigeria, who finished third place after defeating Tunisia, will go home with $2 million with their North African counterparts.