Benin City To Host NWPL Super Four, Three Million Naira On Offer

Benin City, Edo State will be the host city for the 2016/17 Nigeria Women Premier League Super Four tournament which has been scheduled to come alive from the 11th to 16th of September.

But more importantly, three million Naira has been announced as prize money for the champions, while the runners-up go home with two million Naira.

This was disclosed at the draw ceremony of the season-ending tournament which held in Protea Hotel, Ikeja, Lagos, on Wednesday 16 August, and it can now be said that the stage is set.

Having finished as the top two sides in Group A and Group B following an intense regular season, Bayelsa Queens, Rivers Angels, Delta Queens and Nasarawa Amazons are the only teams left with a shot at the title.

A round-robin format will see all four clubs play three matches apiece en route the final match day which would feature the top two teams as finalists.

The Nigeria Football Federation President, Amaju Melvin Pinnick made himself available for the draw ceremony.

In January, Rivers Angels clinched the league crown for a third consecutive season, making it the fifth time in their history that they lifted the trophy. They were given a cash prize of N350,000.

NWPL Super Four Schedule

Matchday 1: Nasarawa Amazons vs Bayelsa Queens
Delta Queens vs Rivers Angels

Matchday 2: Rivers Angels vs Nasarawa Amazons
Bayelsa Queens v Delta Queens

Matchday 3: Nasarawa Amazons vs Delta Queens
Rivers Angels vs Bayelsa Queens

Matchday 4: Final