Basketball: NBBF/Total National Men Division 1 League Tips Off In January

NBBF Men's Premier League Logo

A total of 23 teams will compete in the Nigeria Basketball Federation organised Total National Men Division 1 league for silverware and promotion slots to the Premier Division when competition tips off on Monday, 20 January 2020.

Conveying the modalities of the league in a letter to participating clubs, NBBF Secretary General Afolabi-Oluwayemi Olabisi said all teams are expected to converge on the National Stadium, Surulere, Lagos to battle for the title.

The Total National Men Division 1 league will be partitioned into the traditional spheres of the Atlantic Conference and Savannah Conferences.

The Atlantic Conference will be made up of nine teams from the South West, South-South and South-East geo-political zones while 14 teams from the North East, North Central and North West make up the Savannah Conference.

In the Atlantic Conference of the Total National Men Division 1 league, Air Force Warriors (Lagos) will slug it out against O.S Lions (Oshogbo), T. Joba (Akwa Ibom), Comets (Lagos), Police Bombers (Lagos), Impression Academy (Asaba), Brave Heart (Calabar), Camac (Bayelsa) and Oilers (Lagos).

In the Savannah conference, Apa Flames (Otukpo), Dashon Mambas (Abuja0, Kano Pyramid (Kano), Zamfara Shooters (Gusau), Yobe Desert Warriors (Damaturu), AHIP Giants (Kano) and All Stars (Abuja) have all been invited.

Others include Jewel Bulls (Gombe), Prison Reformers (Abuja), Taraba Hurricanes (Jalingo), African Patriots (Kaduna), Gboko City Chief (Gboko), Golden Touch (Nasarawa) and Federal Road Safety Commission completes the teams.

Teams are expected to arrive on Sunday, 19 January before the Technical meeting with the Total National Men Division 1 league matches tipping off the next day.

The league will last for a week with teams departing on the Monday, 27th of January.