Athletics: Adegoke Sets World Leading Time, Udo-Gabriel Shines At Season-Opening AFN Meet

Enoch Adegoke blazed the fastest time in the world this year in the 100m running 10.16s (+0.8m/s) to take the men’s 100m final A, at the season-opening All-Comers meet at the Federal University of Technology, Akure (FUTA).

Adegoke’s time at the traditional domestic curtain-raiser that saw 500 athletes in competition bettered the World Lead (WL) 10.23s formerly held by Australia’s Jake Doran.

Adegoke poses beside his world leading 100m time.
Credit: Making of Champions

Godson Brume finished second with a Personal Best (PB) and World U-20 Lead of 10.27s and Alaba Akintola placed 3rd, returning a time of 10.40s.

In the men’s 100m final B, Making of Champions athlete Favour Ashe crossed the line first in 10.50s, qualifying for the 2021 World U-20 Championships in Kenya as a result with Nicholas Mabilo and Emmanuel Oche in second and third place respectively on identical times of 10.61s.

Favour Ashe powers through to win the men’s 100m B. Credit: Making of Champions

In the women’s 100m, National Champion and Olympics medal hopeful Joy Udo-Gabriel won in 11.72s from Praise Idamadudu who clocked 11.81s and Esther Okon in 11.87s.

Joy Udo-Gabriel started her season in fine form, winning the women’s 100m A. Credit: Making of Champions

Ese Awuse took the women’s 100m final B in a time of 12.00s ahead of Blessing Aguda (12.04s) and Adetutu Aladeloye (12.21s).

National 400m Champion Emmanuel Ojeli set the fastest time in the men’s 400m heat finishing in a Personal Best 20.78s (+0.3) and MoC teammate Jerry Jakpa also ran a sub 21s to win his own heat in 20.94s (+1.4). John Clifford who won the 11th heat in a PB of 21.17s (+1.0) was the 3rd fastest man overall.

Emmanuel Ojeli set a PB in the 400m. Credit: Making of Champions

Fakorede Nicholas won heat 9 in 21.18s (+1.0), while Alaba Akintola clocked 21.20s (+0.6) in heat 13.

In the women’s 200m, Esther Okon posted the fastest time of all heats with a PB of 23.82s (0.0) in heat 4 ahead of Goodbless Tima who finished in 24.32s.

Esther Okon posted fastest time in the women’s 400m heat. Credit: Making of Champions

Praise Idamadudu wasn’t too far off from Okon winning her heat in 23.97s, while Olajide Olayinka set the 3rd fastest time in winning her heat in 24.01s.

Praise Idamadudu was also impressive in winning her 400m heat. Credit: Making of Champions

Sikiru Adeyemi dominated from the start to set a PB of 46.19s in his 400m heat, finishing ahead of Nathaniel Samson and Abdulrahman Afeez who both followed in SB’s of 47.08s and 47.79s respectively.

Chidera Nnamani won the first heat in a PB of 47.61s, while Ayo Adeola took heat 8 in a 47.87s (PB), just edging Gerald Odeka who clocked 48.14s, as Oluwabamidele Ajayi placed 3rd in 48.14s.

Meanwhile national champion, Imaobong Nse Uko recovered from a poor start to win the women’s 400m in a SB best 53.98s with Blessing Ovwighoadjebre 2nd in 55.32s and Blessing Oladoye 3rd in 55.38s.

Imaobong Nse Uko. Credit: Making of Champions

National Champion Oyeniyi Abejoye won the men’s 110mH in 14.23s (+1.2) ahead of Samuel Osadolor who ran 14.31s and Martins Ogierakhi in 14.33s.

Ese Awu claimed the women’s 100mH in a time of 14.35s (+1.5), edging out pre-race favourite Kemi Francis who ran 14.36s and Stella Ayanleke in 14.53s.

Prior Ochonogor took the men’s 400mH in a time of 53.12s ahead of Teslim Oyedele (53.71s) and Gbenga Bakre (54.75s). Esther Joseph took the women’s event in 62.79s ahead of Nwokike Adaeze (63.98s) and Oniyide Folusho (71.36s).

Prior Ochonogor powers home ahead of the chasing pack in the men’s 400mH. Credit: Making of Champions

Ramot Abike Jimoh ran 19:11.03s to take the women’s 5000m with Dike Esther Abi (19:50.59s) and Sehinde Favour (22:18.66s) finishing second and third respectively.

In the men’s 1,500m, Hammed Sambo finished in 4:00.41s to win the event ahead of Balogun Akeem (4:12.36s) and Olajide Tunmise (4:17.02s).

Olude Folakemi won the women’s 5km walk in 23:20.30s while the men’s 10,000m was won by Oyebode Dada Sunday who posted a time of 32:51.15s to finish ahead of Ijoko Sunday (34:02.78s) Akintanmide Abayomi (35:05.55s).

Kure Adams dominated the Javelin Throw launching a mark of 74.69m to finish well ahead of 2nd-placed Emmanuel Ogboagu who managed 47.63m.

Zola Nzube leapt 7.33m to win the men’s Long Jump ahead of Bode Akintokun (7.26m) and Oshasha Afoke (7.25m).

Zola Nzube leaps to the win in the men’s long jump Credit: Making of Champions

Precious Okoronkwo covered 5.85m to win the women’s Long Jump ahead of Ruth Agadama and Nwokike Joy who both posted identical jumps of 5.67m.

Osisike Esther threw for a distance of 47.16m to take the Women’s Discus ahead of Comfort Anietie (46.40m) and Ogbukwo Eucharia (34.73m).

Ofoku Nyechovwo dominated the men’s shot put throwing for 11.88m to finish ahead of Ibrahim Abiound (10.81m) and Ogboagu Emmanuel (10.77m).