AITEO Cup: Tornadoes Join Holders FC IfeanyiUbah, Sunshine In Semis

Niger Tornadoes are through to the last four of this year’s Aiteo Cup after they eliminated Nigerian Professional Football League (NPFL) champions Plateau United 4-2 on aggregate in the quarter-final.

Both sides played out a 2-2 draw in their second leg clash in Jos after Niger Tornadoes had won the home leg 2-0 on Wednesday.

Niger Tornadoes join fellow top flight sides Sunshine Stars and defending champions FC IfeanyiUbah in the semifinal.

Ajibola Otegbeye netted a brace as Sunshine Stars defeated Osun United 3-1 in their second leg clash to overturn a 1-0 first leg deficit. Sikiru Alimi also scored for Sunshine Stars while Osun United got their consolation through Tosin Omoyele. FC IfeanyiUbah defeated hosts ABS FC of Ilorin 1-0 for a 4-0 aggregate win.

In the last quarter-final tie, 2015 champions Akwa United thrashed Katsina United feeders 7-0 in their first leg clash on Sunday to all but qualify for the last four area of the second leg in Katsina. Former Sharks and Enyimba forward Christian Pyagbara netted 4 goals.

Aiteo Cup Quarter-final:

2nd leg:

ABS FC 0-1 FC IfeanyiUbah (FC IfeanyiUbah win 4-0 on aggregate)

Sunshine Stars 3-1 Osun United (Sunshine Stars win 3-2 on aggregate)

Plateau United 2-2 Niger Tornadoes (Niger Tornadoes win 4-2 on aggregate)

1st leg:

Akwa United 7-0 Katsina United Feeders.