AITEO CUP: Enyimba, Rivers United, MFM Fall At First Hurdle

Nigeria Professional Football League (NPFL) outfits Enyimba, Rivers United and MFM FC were on Wednesday knocked out of the 2017 AITEO Cup.

Enyimba-four time winners of the competition- lost 2-1 to ABS FC in Ilorin, just three days after trouncing the same team 3-0 at home in the NPFL.

In Lafia, Nasarawa United thrashed a largely inexperienced MFM side 3-0 to advance to the round of 32.

The biggest shock of the round came in Port Harcourt where third-tier league side, J. Atete dumped out 4-time champions, Rivers United.

The Nationwide League One side won 7-6 on penalties after regulation time ended goalless.

NPFL leaders, Plateau United and Sunshine Stars are also through to the next round after respective wins over Wikki Tourists and Mighty Jets away from home.

But the match involving Rangers and Kogi United in Lokoja was abandoned after fans invaded the pitch following a decision that went the way of the Flying Antelopes.


Ngwa FC 6 FC Galadima 2

Heartland 0 Insurance 0 (5-4 penalties)

Katsina United Feeders 1 Aklosendi FC 0

AITEL FC 0 Unicem Rovers 0 (3-5)

Mighty Jets 1 Sunshine Stars 2

Bayelsa United W/O FC Zamfara

Ede United 2 Sakaba United 0

FC IfeanyiUbah Feeders 2 Jigawa Golden Stars 1

Ekiti United 3 Dolphins FC 2

Rivers United 0 FC Atete 0 (6-7 penalties)

Delta Warriors 2 Ayade Babes 0

FC Yarmalight 1 FC IfeanyiUbah 3

Shooting Stars 3 Dynamite FC 1

Kogi United Vs Rangers International (Abandoned)

Nasarawa United 3 MFM FC 0

Doma United 1 Adamawa United 1 (4-3 penalties)

Osun United 2 Coal City Youths 0

FC Lokoja 0 El-Kanemi Babes 2

Kwara United 4 Sokoto United 0

Wikki Tourists 1 Plateau United 2

ABS FC 2 Enyimba FC 1

Samba Kurna 2 Wikki Tourists Feeders 0

Abia Warriors 1 Crown FC 0

FRSC FC 1 Potiskum Academy 0

Almar FC 0 Spartan FC 0 (5-3 penalties)

Moyero FC 0 Akwa Starlets 2



Lobi Stars Vs Katsina United (Wednesday, 23rd August)

Adamawa United Feeders Vs Cynosure FC (Wednesday, 23rd August)

Niger Tornadoes Vs El-Kanemi Warriors (Thursday, 17th August)

Halfa FC Vs Akwa United (Thursday, 17th August)

Niger Tornadoes Feeders Vs FC Abuja (Thursday, 17th August)

Yobe Desert Stars Vs Kano Pillars (Thursday, 24th August)


The round of 32 draws will take hold on Friday, 18th August 2017.

Winners of the competition will pocket N25m and also represent Nigeria in the CAF Confederation Cup next year.