“27” Premier League Champions From Inception Till Date


Did you know that only 7 teams have emerged Premier League Champions since the inception of the competition? You might not have known! But Liverpool became the latest team to add the Premier League title to their cart of trophies.

So, you might wonder why this article is captioned “27 Premier League Champions From Inception Till Date”. The fact is that there have been 27 seasons since the English Premier League began with only eight winners emerging from start till date.

What is the Premier League?

The Premier League is England’s top tier domestic football league and was inaugurated in 1992 after 22 clubs broke away from the Football League to set up their own competition at the end of the 1991/1992 season.  

In the first year of the competition only 22 teams participated. The first set of clubs to play in the English Premier League were Arsenal, Aston Villa, Blackburn Rovers, Chelsea, Coventry City, Crystal Palace, Everton, Ipswich Town, Leeds United, Liverpool, Manchester City, Manchester United, Middlesbrough, Norwich City, Nottingham Forest, Oldham Athletic, Queens Park Rangers, Sheffield Wednesday, Southampton, Tottenham Hotspur, and Wimbledon.

That year, Manchester United were crowned champions after finishing the season with 84 points.

ALSO READ: EPL: 7 Nigerian Players to Watch Out For In The 2019/2020 Season

Throughout the years, several records have been created and broken.

Manchester United have won the title most (20 times), no English manager has ever won the title, and Liverpool became the first team to win the title with the most matches left – 7.

Busybuddiesng.com compiles a full list of all Premier League champions from inception till date.

Full List of Premier League Champions/Winners From Inception Till Date

  • Manchester United – 8 Premier League Titles
  • Chelsea – 5 Premier League Titles
  • Manchester City – 4 Premier League Titles
  • Arsenal – 3 Premier League Titles
  • Blackburn Rovers – 1 Premier League Title
  • Leicester City – 1 Premier League Title
  • Liverpool – 1 Premier League Title