2021 AFCON: Benin Republic Announces 23-man Squad To Battle Nigeria

Nigeria’s opponents in Group L of the 2021 Africa Cup of Nations qualification tournament Benin Republic have released a 23-man list for the encounters against the Super Eagles on 11 November and Sierra Leone eight days later.

Squirrels head coach Michel Dusseryer named four home-based players in his squad with a third of the team made of players based in France.

The Squirrels would be looking to qualify for Africa’s football showpiece for a fifth time and a second straight time following their appearance at the 2019 edition in Egypt were they lost to finalists Senegal in the quarterfinal.

They begin their campaign against three-time African champions Nigeria on 11 November before hosting Sierra Leone on 19 November.

Full 23-man Squad:

Goalkeepers: Fabien Farnolle (Yeni Malatyaspor, Turkey), Marcel Dandjinou (ESAE FC), Chérif Cakpo (Buffalo FC)

Defenders: Olivier Verdon (Eupen, Belgium), Ogouchi Jean (Dragons, Benin), David Kiki (Brest, France), Youssouf Assogba (Amiens, France), Yarou Nabil (Buffalo), Cédric Hountondji (Clermont, France), Melvyn Doremus (AF Bobigny, France), Emmanuel Imorou (Thonon Evian, France)

Midfielders: Agossa Jérôme Bonou (Djoliba, Mali), Jordan Adeoti (Auxerre, France), Mama Seibou (Toulon, France), Anaane Tidjani (AS Soliman, Tunisia), Sessi D’Almeida (Valenciennes, France), Stéphane Sessegnon (Gençlerbiligi, Turkey)

Attackers: Yannick Aguèmon (OH Louvain, Belgium), Mickaël Poté (Erzurumspor, Turkey), Steve Mounié (Huddersfield, England), Jodel Dossou (TSV Hartberg, Austria), Marcellin Koukpo (CS Hammam-Lif, Tunisia), Cebio Soukou ( Arminia Bielefeld, Germany)