2019 African Games: HFN Release Male And Female Squad For Morocco

The Handball Federation of Nigeria (HFN) has released its list of players for the male and female handball teams that will represent Nigeria in the Handball event at the African Games billed for Morocco. 

The squad of 14 players per team was released by the HFN’s technical director Ferdinand Emeana on Wednesday and is chiefly comprised of players in the Prudent Energy Handball Premier League with a few foreign-based players also making the rooster.

The contingent which also includes Emenaa will have two domestic coaches and one foreign-based coach among the backroom staff.

Both national teams qualified for the 2019 African Games by defeating all comers at the qualifiers held in Burkina Faso in April. 

The team will depart for Morocco on Friday for the African Games which will hold from August 19th to 30th 2019.

Nigeria’s Male Handball Team for the 2019 Africa Games


1. Udochukwu Ohaekwe (Israel, Left Back)

2. Isoken Nosa Odia (Israel, Right Back)

3. Ahamefula Chinemere (Israel, Right Back)

4. Rachael Brown (Benin Rep, Center Back) 

5. Mercy Audu (Benin Rep, Left Back) 

6. Sunday Hope (Plateau Peacocks, Left Wing)

7. Cynthia Vincent (Plateau Peacocks, Left Wing)

8. Toyin Yusuf (Plateau Peacocks, Goal Keeper) 

9. Adaobi Okoro (NSCDC, Pivot)

10. Susan Omoluwa (NSCDC, Goal Keeper) 

11. Ruth Ameh (NSCDC, Right Wing)

12. Faith Inegbedion (Edo Dynamos, Pivot) 

13. Dorathy Nyagh (Benue Babes, Right Back) 

14. Muinat Yusuf (Kwara State, Right Back) 


1. Philip Kalu (Israel, Left Back)

2. Obinna Patrick (Israel, Left Back)

3. Obinna Ani (Morocco, Left Back)

4. Faruk Yusuf (Morocco, Right Wing) 

5. Oladunjoye Adams (Qatar, Goal Keeper) 

6. Ibitoye Ayomide (Lagos, Left Wing)

7. Rotibi Gbenga (Lagos, Right Wing) 

8. Yahaya Owolabi A (Lagos, Center Back) 

9. Adio Ibrahim (Lagos, Pivot) 

10. Emeanaa Emmanuel (FRSC, Pivot) 

11. Kingsley Okubike (Kano Pillars, Left Back) 

12. Emeka Emmanuel (Niger  United, Center Back) 

13. Anas Mohammed (Niger United, Left Wing) 

14. Solomon Agbaji (Kano Pillars, Goalkeeper)