2017 CONCACAF Gold Cup: All You Need To Know

The CONCACAF Gold Cup is one of the six FIFA confederation championships.

A tourney a few considers the most lightweight on the basis of the strength of the teams competing. Regardless, many still find the Gold Cup fascinating, as evident in the turnout of fans on each match day.

The 2017 edition of the biennial competition features 12 teams. Some whose players have fond memories of jersey exchanges with more celebrated names at the biggest stage (FIFA World Cup), while others dream of someday actualizing that fantasy.

A: French Guiana, Canada, Honduras, Costa Rica
B: United State, Panama, Martinique, Nicaragua
C: Curaçao, Jamaica, Mexico, El Salvador


The two teams succinctly mentioned below are considered favorites for the tournament.

USA – Bruce Arena has a considerably experienced team to fancy overall success for the USA, coupled with home support.

MEXICO – Aside from the added pressure of being the defending champion, and most successful team in the tournament’s history, Luis Pompilio Páez is parading what is arguably the youngest squad in the competition.

So-Far > Alphonso Davies (Canada), currently sits atop the goals chart courtesy of his brace (2 goals) which came in the opener against French Guiana.

Did you know –
The only time a team outside Mexico and the United States won the competition was in 2000. A German Holger Osieck led Canada to a remarkable win against Colombia.