2017 AITEO Cup Finalists Confirmed

The two finalists for the 2017 AITEO Cup has been confirmed after former winners Akwa United defeated Sunshine Stars 3-2 on aggregate to join giant killers Niger Tornadoes.

2015 winners Akwa United had lost the away leg 1-0 to the Akure Gunners and needed at least a two-goal win to secure a spot in the final. That was exactly what happened as the Promise Keepers ran out 3-1 winners to book their place in the final with a 3-2 aggregate win.

Former Sharks and Enyimba player Christian Pyagbara netted his 7th goal in the competition during the game to become the leading goalscorer. Ifeanyi Ifeanyi was also on the scoresheet for Akwa United.

With their semifinal victory, Akwa United will face Niger Tornadoes in the final  slated for the Agege Stadium in Lagos on October 15.