2017 AITEO/CAF Awards: Salah Wins Africa’s Best Player Award Ahead Of Mane And Aubameyang

Egyptian star Mohamed Salah has been named the African Player of the Year Award recipient ahead of his Liverpool teammate Sadio Mane and Pierre Emerick Aubameyang.

Salah had a phenomenal 2017 as he helped his country qualify for the FIFA World Cup for the first time in almost three decades in addition to netting 17 goals in the Premier League this season.

In the pick of the other awards, Super Falcons of Nigeria forward Asisat Oshoala emerged CAF Women’s Player of the Year for the third time while Egyptian national team coach Hector Cuper emerged the Coach of the Year Award recipient.

Award Recipients In Full:

African Player of the Year: Mohamed Salah

Women’s Player of the Year: Asisat Oshoala

Men’s National Team of the Year: Egypt

Coach of the Year: Hector Cuper

Club of the Year: Wydad Casablanca

Football Leader of the Year: Ahmed Yahya

Legends Award: Ibrahim Sunday

Women National Team of the Year: South Africa

Platinum Award: Ghana’s Head of State (Nana Akufo Addo) and Liberia’s Head of State (George Weah)

Young Player of the Year: Patson Daka

CAF Best XI: Mathlouthi; Maaloul, Bailly, Ahmed Fathi; Bencharki, El-Ahmadi Ounnajem, Boutaib, Junior Ajayi, Mohamed Salah; Taha Yassin Kheniessi